New Dorset Council LD Councillors From North Dorset

It was announced, on the 3rd May, that three Liberal Democrats from North Dorset had been elected to serve as councillors on the new Dorset Council.

Dorset Council came into existence on the 1st April and it replaced many former councils in the county of Dorset.

The following Liberal Democrat candidates from North Dorset were elected to serve as Liberal Democrat councillors on this new Dorset Council:

Cranborne & Alderholt Ward: Cllr David Tooke

Shaftesbury Town Ward: Cllr Derek Beer and Cllr Tim Cook


Hugo, Miéville, North Dorset Parliamentary Spokesman, commented:

Our Lib Dem gains in North Dorset have been a little less spectacular than in the rest of the country, but we have made solid progress nonetheless. 

It was great to see Derek Beer and Tim Cook grabbing both seats in 'Shaftesbury Town' ward, and Dave Tooke winning in 'Cranborne and Alderholt' ward.

Barry von Clemens, meanwhile, narrowly failed to grasp one of the three seats in 'Gillingham' ward, despite a valiant effort (with good support from Mike Gould and John Butcher) whilst Hugo Mieville and John Tanner reclaimed a solid second place in 'Blandford' ward. We were also especially proud of second places for our débutant candidates Ros Eveleigh, Alexandra Gale and Joanna Bury - as well as close run things for ‘veterans’ Barrie Cooper and David Fox. 

And all that with a national vote share of 19%! There are now 29 Lib Dems on the new Dorset Council, firmly re-establishing ourselves as the main opposition party in Dorset. The Tories now only have an overall majority of 4 on this Council! 

The Lib Dems are back - but then we never really went away!

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.