Future Dorset

Following a Dorset-wide consultation, a proposal, called Future Dorset, for the re-organisation of local government in Dorset has recently been submitted to the Government. It is proposed that the current nine Dorset councils be reduced to two - one for urban Dorset and one for rural Dorset.

The proposed urban unitary authority would consist of Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch. Christchurch is currently part of the county of Dorset.

The proposed rural Dorset unitary authority would then consist of the remainder of the county of Dorset. 

For full details of the proposal see the Future Dorset web-site:


The proposal was prepared and submitted jointly by: Bournemouth BC, Dorset CC, North Dorset DC, Poole BC, West Dorset DC and Weymouth & Portland BC.


Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.